Us All

One Christmas at the very beginning of your twenties when your mother gives you a warm coat that she saved for months to buy, don’t look at her skeptically after she tells you she thought the coat was perfect for you. Don’t hold it up and say it’s longer than you like your coats to be and too puffy and possibly even too warm. Your mother will be dead by spring. That coat will be the last gift she gave you. You will regret the small thing you didn’t say for the rest of your life.

– abstract from Tiny Beautiful Things: Advice On Love And Life From Dear Sugar, via Brainpickings

I am quite sure that I’ve read this somewhere before.

Every time I quarrel with my mum (or anyone else who is so close to my heart that I don’t see them sometimes), or even just said something mean that I shouldn’t have, I almost always get this irrational fear that something terrible is going to happen the very next day and I will never be able to set things right.

Regret is possibly the worst punishment I can imagine.

Sometimes, reading something random on the internet is just the thing you need to put things into perspective.

So, be kind to the people you care about. That’s all.

Inexplicable sorrows await all of us. That was her essential point. Life isn’t some narcissistic game you play online.

I bet that in a parallel universe, life is an online game – where you get three lives (buy more at the game store!) and a re-start option.

Leave a Reply

