That B Word

Betrayal is a particularly hard pill to swallow. It’s like a sudden slap across the face – only that the mark it leaves stays for a lot longer.

And it is always bewildering, how fragile trust is.

I think it breaks with a sharp clinking sound, much like the one that champagne glasses make when they meet.

***

People are not toys and thus, they are not to be played with. I thought that’s common sense, or rather, common decency.

Apparently, things that are dubbed ‘common’ are often surprisingly rare.

***

I wish you all the happiness in the world.

I send well wishes to people frequently. Birthdays, weddings and other joyous occasions. I mean all of them, but some more than others. It is a matter of degrees.

In some cases, I greatly prefer that you do well rather than not. It will please me if you do.

In other cases, I hope fervently and actively desire that you are well. It will hurt me if you are not.

I will probably never tell you which group you belong to. Then again, you should already know.

***

Very nice to meet you. 

There are some people in my life who are especially dear to me, who I am exceptionally fond of.

I discount my family from this group for a couple of reasons – 1. I am supposed to love them, regardless and almost by default and 2. by those curious laws that governs familial relations, it is nearly impossible to be exceptionally fond of (or even simply like) one’s family. It’s just one of those things.

Anyway, back to those people who I am exceptionally fond of.

It is always thrilling for me to meet one of these people. I am positively delighted and often, it shows. If I really like you, I like you very much.

On the flip side of this glee is that irrational fear that I might have missed them by just a hair’s breath. It’s the Sliding Doors theory, something that I probably think too much about.

What if I have taken another subject? What if I had gotten lost and missed the orientation session? What if I had decided to stay home that night? It does sound silly but these near-misses are scary to me.

Then I remember that everything has already happened and seeing that I cannot accidentally un-know people, all is well.

Leave a Reply

