Infinite

The human species was given dominion over the earth and took the opportunity to exterminate other species and warm the atmosphere and generally ruin things in its own image, but it paid this price for its privileges: that the finite and specific animal body of this species contained a brain capable of conceiving the infinite and wishing to be infinite itself.
The Corrections by Jonathan Franzen.

I like the idea of being able to conceive of the infinite. I am not so sure if I like the fact that we can conceive of the infinite.

This book is so full of deep anguish. But I am ploughing on because I need to know what happens in the end.

I have a feeling that it is something tragic. Yet, I hope something good will happen – I like happy endings.

Leave a Reply

