We’re All Gonna Die – 100 Metres of Existence

Every now and then, I come across cool creative projects that I wish I have been clever enough to think of myself.

We’re All Gonna Die – 100 Metres of Existence is one of them.

In the summer of 2007 (I know, I’m 3 years late; but better late then never!), Danish photographer Simon Høgsberg sat near a railroad bridge in Warshauerstrasse in Berlin, taking pictures of the passer-bys from the same spot for 20 days.

He then spent the next 17 months processing the pictures into one long (100 m x 78 cm to be exact) strip. I am not sure if it is deliberate (or if there is any cosmic significance to it), but there are precisely 178 people in the photograph.

I love projects like this, which in a very basic way, attempt to take a (literal) snapshot of humanity in a certain place, at a certain time.

Isn’t it a very human pursuit, to want to freeze time (and perhaps, space) like that?

Leave a Reply

