Love, Get Well Soon

When I first decided that I want to be a writer, I also decided that I will never write about love.

It was too predictable and thus, unacceptable to my idealistic young self. There is too much love and too little love at the same time – too much chatter about love (in songs, films, books, absolutely everywhere) and too few people who really know what the hell it is. I thought that I will be above this fray of confusion and do myself (and everyone else a favour) by keeping a wide berth from this subject.

This is the kind of decisions that we make foolishly in our youth because we just didn’t know better. Decisions we make based on mere principles but without the understanding that some things cannot be willed to be.

People always make love out to be either too perfect (i.e. fairytale) or too difficult (i.e. tragedy). Dichotomies like this frustrate me because they just aren’t very accurate.

I wanted someone to come out and make a nonsensical statement about love that is not overly sentimental, philosophical or try hard. Something possibly funny or almost mundane that hints at the reality of this elusive thing. Something a little more unexpected.

Something like this:

Love is in the car boot with a golf club and an unread manual.

Or:

I told Love to hurry the fuck up because I didn’t have all day to dilly-dally like that.

Or:

Pass the Love, will you?

It doesn’t make sense (at all) but I like the sound of it. And who is to say that it is necessarily a fallacy?

And of course, I have no idea what I’m talking about. You have just wasted a minute of your precious time reading this gibberish – but, I won’t apologise.

***

Inspired by the soundtrack of the Agnes b. Fall/Winter 2010 presentation (more on that later), I dropped by the store at Raffles City and discovered a strange new band from Germany named Get Well Soon.

It is a very dark world that their music conjures up but it is a rather attractive and interesting one. I sort of like them, just not sure how much.

What do you think?

3 thoughts on “Love, Get Well Soon

  1. “And of course, I have no idea what I’m talking about. You have just wasted a minute of your precious time reading this gibberish – but, I won’t apologise.”

    I like this stanza, specifically the non-apology.

Leave a Reply

