Belle

I like the sound of Belle & Sebastian, a British (Glaswegian to be precise) indie band with happy/melancholic tunes + clever, mad lyrics.

Their songs are always easy on the ears and make you feel like smiling or bopping your head. Or both.

I feel like dancing on my own
Where no one knows me, and where I
Can cause offence just by the way I look

The Chalet Lines is about rape. And they have a guy sing it. I thought that was kind of brilliant.

I also found some writing on one of their CD sleeves which is random, a little politically charged and at times, totally off the tangent. Naturally, I love it.

Irrelevancy seems to be the order of our times, does it not?

One thought on “Belle

  1. they have such a nice sound – and they are good for mixtapes because their songs vary so much that there is always a topic to choose from – i think i used piazza new york catcher a lot in high school, or anything off of the boy with an arab strap album

Leave a Reply

