ENFP

I just did the Myers-Briggs personality quiz again – third time in this lifetime if I’m not wrong. I was hoping that there would have been some fundamental change in my personality between now and the time I was 18.

Apparently not, because I am still an ENFP. [You can do the quiz here if you want.]

There is nothing we like more than to have some quiz tell us about ourselves. Otherwise, how do we explain the flourishing of inane quizzes on Facebook (of which the most ridiculous I’d seen is What are the initials of the person you’ll spend forever with?)?

I figured that it has something to do with how positive these ‘reports’ of yourselves are. For instance, they will never tell you that you’re an incorrigible bitch who doesn’t deserve love. But of course, even if you are the aforementioned bitch, you can always remedy that by giving the answers you know you should be giving.

Doctoring a survey is hardly rocket science.

I cannot help but be skeptical about modernist frameworks of data collection, which stem from Rational Thought. It seems to me that putting people into boxes is a futile effort because they always break out of them anyway and we are left scratching our heads in puzzlement, asking ourselves the perennial question, Why do they do that?

That aside, the result for the Myers-Briggs quiz is chillingly accurate. I’m a little scared.

And this is my favourite quote of what I am:

ENFPs have what some call a “silly switch.” They can be intellectual, serious, all business for a while, but whenever they get the chance, they flip that switch and become CAPTAIN WILDCHILD, the scourge of the swimming pool, ticklers par excellence. Sometimes they may even appear intoxicated when the “switch” is flipped.

I love the sound of Captain Wildchild and tickler par excellence.

In general, this quiz makes ENFPs sound like a bunch of schizoprenic lunatics. And true to form, I don’t really mind, much 🙂

Leave a Reply

